CompletedPhase 3MS (type not specified)NCT003910792005-005265-11

What it found

Missed its main goal

The main measure did not show a significant benefit.

MeasureEstimate95% CIp
Number of Patients With at Least 30% Improvement in Numerical Rating Scale (NRS) Pain Score From BaselineOdds Ratio (OR) 1.3090.840–2.0380.2338
Change in Mean Pain Due to MS NRS ScoreEstimated treatment effect -0.17-0.62–0.290.468

Statistical analysis as posted on ClinicalTrials.gov.

What was tested

Treatment tested

  • Nabiximols

Placebo or sham

  • Placebo

Results by group

Change in Mean Pain Due to MS NRS Score

14 weeks: Baseline - End of Treatment (last 7 days of treatment)

GroupValueIntervalNumber analysed
Sativex-2.02 units on a scale2.15 (Standard Deviation)167
Placebo-1.89 units on a scale2.33 (Standard Deviation)172

Sativex

-2.02

Placebo

-1.89

p = 0.468; Estimated treatment effect -0.17 (95% CI -0.62–0.29)

Number of Patients With at Least 30% Improvement in Numerical Rating Scale (NRS) Pain Score From Baseline

14 weeks: Baseline - end of treatment (last 7 days)

GroupValueIntervalNumber analysed
Sativex84 participants167
Placebo77 participants172

Sativex

84

Placebo

77

p = 0.2338; Odds Ratio (OR) 1.309 (95% CI 0.840–2.038)

Values as posted on ClinicalTrials.gov. Outcomes measured differently across trials are not directly comparable.

Safety

GroupParticipants at riskSerious adverse eventsDeaths
Sativex1673 (1.8%)
Placebo1722 (1.2%)

As posted on ClinicalTrials.gov. Serious adverse events include any serious health event during the trial, whether or not the treatment caused it.

What it measured

Main measures

  • Change in Mean Pain Due to MS NRS Score

    14 weeks: Baseline - End of Treatment (last 7 days of treatment)

    Pain
  • Number of Patients With at Least 30% Improvement in Numerical Rating Scale (NRS) Pain Score From Baseline

    14 weeks: Baseline - end of treatment (last 7 days)

    Pain
  • The primary endpoint is the mean pain due to MS NRS score taken from the daily IVRS diaries over the last seven days at the end of treatment during the evaluable period (usually week 14).

    Pain

Other measures (5)

  • Change in Pain From Baseline to End of the Treatment Using the NPS (Neuropathic Pain Scale)

    14 weeks: Baseline - End of treatment (Week 14)

    Pain
  • Change From Baseline to End of Treatment in Break-through Analgesia Usage

    14 weeks: baseline - end of treatment (last 7 days)

  • Change From Baseline to End of Treatment in BPI (Brief Pain Inventory) Short Form

    14 weeks: Baseline to end of treatment (last 7 days of treatment)

    Pain
  • Change in Subject Global Impression of Change (SGIC)

    Week 14

    Thinking and memoryPain
  • Change in Sleep Disruption NRS

    14 weeks; Baseline to end of treatment (last 7 days)

    PainMood and sleep

Who could take part

MS (type not specified) · 18 and over

Inclusion Criteria: * Any disease sub-type of MS of at least two years duration * Central neuropathic pain (CNP) of at least three months and expected to remain stable for the study duration * Moderate CNP defined by NRS pain score at baseline sum to at least 24 * Subject established on or previously tried and failed analgesic therapy for CNP * If receiving disease modifying medications, stable dose for 3 months and maintained for study duration Exclusion Criteria: * Subjects whose identified pain is likely to be nociceptive, musculoskeletal (including spasms) peripheral neuropathic or psychogenic in origin, or due to trigeminal neuralgia. * Other non central neuropathic pain of a severity which is likely to interfere with the patients assessment of CNP * medical history suggests subject is likely to relapse/remit during course of study * history of schizophrenia (including family history), other psychotic illness, severe personality disorder or other significant psychiatric disorder other than depression associated with MS * known or suspected history of alcohol abuse, epilepsy or recurrent seizures or hypersensitivity to cannabinoids * travel outside of the country of residence planned during the study * significant cardiac, renal or hepatic impairment * subjects with current recreational cannabis, medicinal cannabis or synthetic cannabinoid based medications within 3 months prior to study entry and unwilling to abstain for the duration of the study

As registered. Criteria can change, so ask the trial team or your neurologist.

About this trial

In the sponsor's words

The purpose of this study is to find out if cannabis-based medicine compared to a dummy medicine (placebo that contains no active ingredient) can help the central neuropathic pain patients experience as a result of multiple sclerosis. This type of pain "central neuropathic pain" is described as shooting, stabbing, burning or searing like sensation, which is often worse at night.

Papers

Loading reviews and guidelines…

Related trials

History

    1. Started

      Sept 2006

    2. Main results due

      Apr 2008

    3. Finished

      Sept 2008

    4. Results posted

      Jul 2012

    Assembled by software from public sources and not checked by people. Each record links to its source. Report an error