CompletedPhase 2Phase 3MS (type not specified)NCT02006160

What it found

Missed its main goal

The main measure did not show a significant benefit.

“Our primary outcome, performance on the Symbol Digit Modalities Test, did not improve.”
Read by software from the paper's abstract

Symbol Digit Modalities Test performance · 12 weeks

Read by software from the paper's abstract

What was tested

Treatment tested

Placebo or sham

  • placebo

Results by group

Symbol Digit Modalities Test

Week 0, Week 12

GroupValueIntervalNumber analysed
Treatment41.18 score on a scale10.67 (Standard Deviation)45
Control35.06 score on a scale12.51 (Standard Deviation)16
Treatment45.05 score on a scale11.09 (Standard Deviation)45
Control38.63 score on a scale10.82 (Standard Deviation)16

Treatment

41.18

Control

35.06

Treatment

45.05

Control

38.63

Values as posted on ClinicalTrials.gov. Outcomes measured differently across trials are not directly comparable.

Safety

GroupParticipants at riskSerious adverse eventsDeaths
Treatment450 (0.0%)
Control160 (0.0%)

As posted on ClinicalTrials.gov. Serious adverse events include any serious health event during the trial, whether or not the treatment caused it.

What it measured

Main measures

  • Symbol Digit Modalities Test

    Week 0, Week 12

    Thinking and memory

Who could take part

MS (type not specified) · 18 to 60

Inclusion Criteria: Patients will be eligible for the study if they fulfill all the inclusion criteria specified below: 1. Males/Females who are ≥ 18 years old and \< 65 years old and are capable of understanding and complying with the protocol, including speaking and writing fluent English and having at least a 9th grade education. 2. Have a diagnosis of MS, as per revised McDonald's Criteria. 3. Have not received steroids in last thirty (30) days or a relapse in the last ninety (90) days, and whose MS is considered stable. 4. Impression of cognitive impairment as indicated by one of the following: (a) positive NP testing following diagnosis of MS as determined by board certified neuropsychologist or with z scores \<-1.5 below expectation in at least one cognitive domain, or (b) informant MSNQ >28. 5. An Expanded Disability Status Scale (EDSS) of ≤ 6.5. 6. Have given written informed consent prior to any study-related procedure not part of normal medical care, with the understanding that consent may be withdrawn by the subject at any time without prejudice to his/her future medical care. 7. Are capable of performing the requirements of a NP test battery including at least 20/70 near visual acuity by near vision chart, with correction allowed. 8. If female, must neither be pregnant nor breast-feeding and must either (a) be > 12 months post-menopausal or surgically sterilized, or (b) agree to use an acceptable method of birth control for the duration of the study. Abstinence will not be considered an acceptable method of birth control. Exclusion Criteria: 1. Have cognitive deficits caused by concomitant medication usage or other significant neurological/psychological disease e.g. Alzheimer's disease, Parkinson's disease, stroke, transient ischemic attack, Vascular Dementia, Huntington's disease, traumatic brain injury or chronic CNS infection 2. Have evidence of other medical cause(s) of cognitive impairment 3. Evidence of major mental illness predating the onset of MS 4. Have evidence of major depression as determined by a positive BDIFS and clinician interview 5. Have report of uncontrolled or labile hypertension, tachycardia, cardiovascular or cerebrovascular disease 6. History of seizure disorder. 7. Optic neuritis within 6 months of enrollment. 8. Trigeminal neuralgia. 9. Prior exposure to aminopyridines within the last six months.

As registered. Criteria can change, so ask the trial team or your neurologist.

About this trial

In the sponsor's words

Cognitive impairment is common in multiple sclerosis (MS) and has devastating impact on functional activities. There is great demand for medications that will enhance cognitive capacity in MS patients. To date, there is no evidence for improvement in cognition following treatment with aminopyridines, but the few studies on the topic included neuropsychological (NP) tests as secondary or tertiary outcomes, and were methodologically flawed. Dalfampridine may enhance cognition by direct pharmacological mechanisms, and should have effects on motor outcomes as in prior studies. By combining cognition and motor outcomes in the proposed study, the investigators will evaluate if the same patients with positive effects show beneficial responses on motor outcomes including physical activity and if such motor outcomes mediate and/or moderate cognitive improvements with dalfampridine

Papers

Loading reviews and guidelines…

Related trials

History

    1. Started

      Dec 2011

    2. Main results due

      Feb 2016

    3. Finished

      Feb 2016

    4. Results posted

      May 2019

    Assembled by software from public sources and not checked by people. Each record links to its source. Report an error