CompletedPhase 2MS (type not specified)NCT02391961

What it found

Missed its main goal

The main measure did not show a significant benefit.

MeasureEstimate95% CIp
Pulse Size Ratio (PSR): Abducting/Adducting Eye Ratio for Saccadic Peak Velocity. 0.842672
Pulse Time Delay (PTD): Time Difference Between Onset of the Saccade in the Adducting Eye and Onset of the Saccade in the Abducting Eye. 0.972866

Statistical analysis as posted on ClinicalTrials.gov.

What was tested

Treatment tested

Placebo or sham

  • Placebo

Results by group

Pulse Size Ratio (PSR): Abducting/Adducting Eye Ratio for Saccadic Peak Velocity.

Average PSR values were taken on day of visit 2 (after 4 weeks) and on day of visit 4 (after 10 weeks), on each visit before (baseline) and three hours after taking the study pill.

GroupValueIntervalNumber analysed
Dalfampridine1.914 ratio0.454 (Standard Deviation)20
Placebo1.937 ratio0.553 (Standard Deviation)20
Dalfampridine1.805 ratio0.451 (Standard Deviation)20
Placebo1.898 ratio0.508 (Standard Deviation)20

Dalfampridine

1.914

Placebo

1.937

Dalfampridine

1.805

Placebo

1.898

p = 0.842672

Pulse Time Delay (PTD): Time Difference Between Onset of the Saccade in the Adducting Eye and Onset of the Saccade in the Abducting Eye.

Average PTD values were taken on day of visit 2 (after 4 weeks) and on day of visit 4 (after 10 weeks), on each visit before (baseline) and three hours after taking the study pill.

GroupValueIntervalNumber analysed
Dalfampridine0.007 seconds0.005 (Standard Deviation)20
Placebo0.007 seconds0.005 (Standard Deviation)20
Dalfampridine0.008 seconds0.004 (Standard Deviation)20
Placebo0.008 seconds0.004 (Standard Deviation)20

Dalfampridine

0.007

Placebo

0.007

Dalfampridine

0.008

Placebo

0.008

p = 0.972866

Values as posted on ClinicalTrials.gov. Outcomes measured differently across trials are not directly comparable.

Safety

GroupParticipants at riskSerious adverse eventsDeaths
Dalfampridine170 (0.0%)0
Placebo150 (0.0%)0

As posted on ClinicalTrials.gov. Serious adverse events include any serious health event during the trial, whether or not the treatment caused it.

What it measured

Main measures

  • Pulse Size Ratio (PSR): Abducting/Adducting Eye Ratio for Saccadic Peak Velocity.

    Average PSR values were taken on day of visit 2 (after 4 weeks) and on day of visit 4 (after 10 weeks), on each visit before (baseline) and three hours after taking the study pill.

    Nerve conduction tests
  • Pulse Time Delay (PTD): Time Difference Between Onset of the Saccade in the Adducting Eye and Onset of the Saccade in the Abducting Eye.

    Average PTD values were taken on day of visit 2 (after 4 weeks) and on day of visit 4 (after 10 weeks), on each visit before (baseline) and three hours after taking the study pill.

    Nerve conduction tests

Other measures (5)

  • Reading Acuity (RA)

    Average RA values were taken on day of visit 2 (after 4 weeks) and on day of visit 4 (after 10 weeks), on each visit before (baseline) and three hours after taking the study pill.

  • Maximum Reading Speed (MRS)

    Average MRS values were taken on day of visit 2 (after 4 weeks) and on day of visit 4 (after 10 weeks), on each visit before (baseline) and three hours after taking the study pill.

  • Gait Assessment

    Measures were taken on day of visit 2 (after 4 weeks) and on day of visit 4 (after 10 weeks), on each visit before (baseline) and three hours after taking the study pill.

    Walking and mobility
  • National Eye Institute (NEI) Visual Function Questionnaire 25 (VFQ-25)

    VFQ25 was administered on day of visit 2 (after 4 weeks) and on day of visit 4 (after 10 weeks).

    Vision
  • 10-Item Neuro-Ophthalmic Supplement (NOS)

    10-Item NOS was administered on day of visit 2 (after 4 weeks) and on day of visit 4 (after 10 weeks).

Who could take part

MS (type not specified) · 18 to 65

Inclusion Criteria: * Diagnosis of MS of any course and duration * Evidence of mild to moderate internuclear ophthalmoparesis (INO), that is slowing of the adducting eye on physical examination of saccadic speed, whether INO is unilateral or bilateral, symmetrical or asymmetrical * Medically stable conditions, ability to give informed consent and understand and cooperate with the testing * Dalfampridine-naive as well as history of taking dalfampridine in the past, whether there was benefit in gait impairment or not, after a washout period of at least 2 weeks Exclusion Criteria: * Lack of evidence of INO (slowing of the adducting eye) on physical examination of saccadic speed * Severe INO (i.e., exotropia in primary gaze) on physical examination * Medically unstable conditions, inability to give informed consent and understand and cooperate with the testing * History of side effects from dalfampridine * History of seizures * Moderate or severe renal failure, assessed by clearance of creatinine

As registered. Criteria can change, so ask the trial team or your neurologist.

About this trial

In the sponsor's words

Primary fatigue represents a major cause of disability in patients with multiple sclerosis (MS), being reported in about 90% of cases. Fatigue interferes with everyday functioning but, unfortunately, little is known about its mechanisms. The investigators propose a characteristic eye movement abnormality (internuclear ophthalmoparesis, INO), commonly encountered in MS, as a simple model for primary motor fatigue. The investigators described worsening of ocular performance in MS patients with INO following visual tasks (ocular motor fatigue), which is likely due to decreased neural conduction along brain pathways injured by MS. This mechanism could represent a major component of MS-related primary motor fatigue. Relevant to Veterans' care, INO is a significant cause of visual disability, especially when complicated by ocular fatigue, and limits daily activities such as reading and driving. The investigators propose a medical treatment to improve ocular performance/fatigue in INO, which can reduce visual disability and improve quality of life in Veterans with MS.

Papers

Loading reviews and guidelines…

Related trials

History

    1. Started

      Apr 2015

    2. Main results due

      Jan 2019

    3. Finished

      Mar 2019

    4. Results posted

      Sept 2020

    Assembled by software from public sources and not checked by people. Each record links to its source. Report an error