Comparison of spinal cord stimulation and the clinical and quantitative sensory testing response in patients with MS pain versus patients with peripheral nerve injury pain

Completed (inferred)MS (type not specified)ISRCTN36818685

What it found

No results found

We found no results in the registry or in papers.

This trial finished 16 years ago. We found no results in the registry or in any paper that cites it.

What it measured

Main measures

  • Changes in pain scores measured by daily pain diaries, measured on day 7 of the trial

    Pain

Other measures (1)

  • Comparison of QST measurements in MS patients with and without stimulation, measured on day 5 of the trial, when the second sensory testing is complete

Who could take part

MS (type not specified) · 18 and over

Show the full criteria

Inclusion criteria

Inclusion: 1. Group 1: Confirmed MS with central pain 2. Group 2: Peripheral nerve injury pain 3. Both groups eligible for spinal cord stimulation 4. Group 3: Age- and gender-matched healthy controls 5. Male and female, aged 18 years or older Exclusion: 1. Unsuitable for spinal cord stimulation 2. High intake of opiates 3. High levels of psychological distress

Exclusion criteria

Not separately supplied in the registry.

As registered. Criteria can change, so ask the trial team or your neurologist.

About this trial

In the sponsor's words

Not provided at time of registration

Loading reviews and guidelines…

History

    1. Started

      Jul 2008

    2. Finished

      Jun 2010

    Assembled by software from public sources.