Rehabilitation of functional muscle and motor capacity in neurodegenerative disease: a single centre placebo-controlled Multiple Sclerosis research trial

Completed (inferred)Not a drug-phase studyMS (type not specified)ISRCTN60122826

What it found

No results found

We found no results in the registry or in papers.

This trial finished 18 years ago. We found no results in the registry or in any paper that cites it.

What it measured

Main measures

  • Measured at baseline, mid- (after 10 weeks intervention) and post-treatment (after 20 weeks of intervention): 1. Maximal isometric muscle strength of knee-extensors and flexors 2. Isotonic and isokinetic dynamic muscle strength using an isokinetic dynamometer 3. Functional performances 4. Blood samples 5. Motor control (surface electromyography [sEMG], in-phase and anti-phase motor coordination te

    Physical functionQuality of life (reported by participants)

Other measures (1)

  • 1. Visual Analogue Scale (VAS) measured before and after each training session 2. Borg Scale measured after each training session

Who could take part

MS (type not specified) · EDSS 0.5 to 3

Show the full criteria

Inclusion criteria

Inclusion: 1. MS patients (Expanded Standard Disbility Status Scale [EDSS] 0.5 - 3) that have functional muscle and motor functional disabilities 2. Males and females aged 20 - 65 years 3. 24-week availability Exclusion: 1. Any pathology that is a contra-indication for rehabilitation training 2. Wheelchair dependency 3. No present physiotherapy (preferably)

Exclusion criteria

Not separately supplied in the registry.

As registered. Criteria can change, so ask the trial team or your neurologist.

About this trial

In the sponsor's words

Not provided at time of registration

Loading reviews and guidelines…

History

    1. Started

      Nov 2005

    2. Finished

      Dec 2007

    Assembled by software from public sources.