CompletedPhase 2MS (type not specified)NCT004894892006-003134-14

What it found

Main goal was not benefit

The main measure was safety, drug levels or similar, not whether the treatment works.

“The primary objective was to evaluate safety; secondary objectives were to evaluate the effects of treatment on disease activity assessed by MRI and relapse rate.”
Read by software from the paper's abstract

24 weeks

GroupnValue
placebo4.9% TEAEs led to treatment discontinuation

Total participants: 118

Read by software from the paper's abstract

What was tested

Treatment tested

Placebo or sham

  • Placebo (for Teriflunomide)

Results by group

Overview of Adverse Events [AE]

from first study drug intake up to 112 days after last intake or up to the first intake in the extension study LTS6047, whichever occured first (40 weeks max)

GroupValueIntervalNumber analysed
Placebo + IFN-β35 participants41
Teriflunomide 7 mg + IFN-β33 participants37
Teriflunomide 14 mg + IFN-β32 participants38
Placebo + IFN-β1 participants41
Teriflunomide 7 mg + IFN-β2 participants37
Teriflunomide 14 mg + IFN-β0 participants38
Placebo + IFN-β0 participants41
Teriflunomide 7 mg + IFN-β0 participants37
Teriflunomide 14 mg + IFN-β0 participants38
Placebo + IFN-β1 participants41
Teriflunomide 7 mg + IFN-β1 participants37
Teriflunomide 14 mg + IFN-β1 participants38

Overview of AE With Potential Risk of Occurrence

from first study drug intake up to 112 days after last intake or up to the first intake in the extension study LTS6047, whichever occured first (40 weeks max)

GroupValueIntervalNumber analysed
Placebo + IFN-β24 participants41
Teriflunomide 7 mg + IFN-β25 participants37
Teriflunomide 14 mg + IFN-β26 participants38
Placebo + IFN-β5 participants41
Teriflunomide 7 mg + IFN-β8 participants37
Teriflunomide 14 mg + IFN-β11 participants38
Placebo + IFN-β5 participants41
Teriflunomide 7 mg + IFN-β2 participants37
Teriflunomide 14 mg + IFN-β7 participants38
Placebo + IFN-β0 participants41
Teriflunomide 7 mg + IFN-β0 participants37
Teriflunomide 14 mg + IFN-β0 participants38
Placebo + IFN-β13 participants41
Teriflunomide 7 mg + IFN-β18 participants37
Teriflunomide 14 mg + IFN-β19 participants38
Placebo + IFN-β0 participants41
Teriflunomide 7 mg + IFN-β3 participants37
Teriflunomide 14 mg + IFN-β3 participants38
Placebo + IFN-β1 participants41
Teriflunomide 7 mg + IFN-β0 participants37
Teriflunomide 14 mg + IFN-β4 participants38
Placebo + IFN-β4 participants41
Teriflunomide 7 mg + IFN-β1 participants37
Teriflunomide 14 mg + IFN-β3 participants38
Placebo + IFN-β5 participants41
Teriflunomide 7 mg + IFN-β3 participants37
Teriflunomide 14 mg + IFN-β3 participants38
Placebo + IFN-β0 participants41
Teriflunomide 7 mg + IFN-β0 participants37
Teriflunomide 14 mg + IFN-β0 participants38
Placebo + IFN-β0 participants41
Teriflunomide 7 mg + IFN-β0 participants37
Teriflunomide 14 mg + IFN-β0 participants38

Liver Function: Number of Participants With Potentially Clinically Significant Abnormalities (PCSA)

from first study drug intake up to 112 days after last intake or up to the first intake in the extension study LTS6047, whichever occured first (40 weeks max)

GroupValueIntervalNumber analysed
Placebo + IFN-β2 participants41
Teriflunomide 7 mg + IFN-β0 participants37
Teriflunomide 14 mg + IFN-β2 participants38
Placebo + IFN-β1 participants41
Teriflunomide 7 mg + IFN-β0 participants37
Teriflunomide 14 mg + IFN-β1 participants38
Placebo + IFN-β1 participants41
Teriflunomide 7 mg + IFN-β0 participants37
Teriflunomide 14 mg + IFN-β1 participants38
Placebo + IFN-β1 participants41
Teriflunomide 7 mg + IFN-β0 participants37
Teriflunomide 14 mg + IFN-β0 participants38
Placebo + IFN-β1 participants41
Teriflunomide 7 mg + IFN-β0 participants37
Teriflunomide 14 mg + IFN-β0 participants38
Placebo + IFN-β0 participants41
Teriflunomide 7 mg + IFN-β0 participants37
Teriflunomide 14 mg + IFN-β0 participants38
Placebo + IFN-β0 participants41
Teriflunomide 7 mg + IFN-β0 participants37
Teriflunomide 14 mg + IFN-β0 participants38

Values as posted on ClinicalTrials.gov. Outcomes measured differently across trials are not directly comparable.

Safety

GroupParticipants at riskSerious adverse eventsDeaths
Placebo + IFN-β411 (2.4%)
Teriflunomide 7 mg + IFN-β372 (5.4%)
Teriflunomide 14 mg + + IFN-β380 (0.0%)

As posted on ClinicalTrials.gov. Serious adverse events include any serious health event during the trial, whether or not the treatment caused it.

What it measured

Main measures

  • Overview of Adverse Events [AE]

    from first study drug intake up to 112 days after last intake or up to the first intake in the extension study LTS6047, whichever occured first (40 weeks max)

    Safety
  • Overview of AE With Potential Risk of Occurrence

    from first study drug intake up to 112 days after last intake or up to the first intake in the extension study LTS6047, whichever occured first (40 weeks max)

  • Liver Function: Number of Participants With Potentially Clinically Significant Abnormalities (PCSA)

    from first study drug intake up to 112 days after last intake or up to the first intake in the extension study LTS6047, whichever occured first (40 weeks max)

  • Safety (adverse event reports; physical examination and laboratory evaluation)

    Safety

Other measures (5)

  • Cerebral Magnetic Resonance Imaging [MRI] Assessment: Change From Baseline in Total Lesion Volume (Burden of Disease)

    baseline (before randomization) and 24 weeks

    MRI lesions
  • Cerebral MRI Assessment: Number of Gd-enhancing T1-lesions Per Scan (Poisson Regression Estimates)

    24 weeks

    MRI lesions
  • Cerebral MRI Assessment: Volume of Gd-enhancing T1-lesions Per Scan

    24 weeks

    MRI lesions
  • Annualized Relapse Rate [ARR]: Poisson Regression Estimates

    24 weeks

    Disability progressionRelapses
  • Pharmacokinetic [PK]: Teriflunomide Plasma Concentration

    24 weeks

    How the body handles the medicine

Who could take part

MS (type not specified) · 18 to 55

Inclusion Criteria: * Definite MS diagnosis according to McDonald's criteria; * Relapsing clinical course, with or without progression; * Expanded Disability Status Scale [EDSS] less or equal to 5.5 (ambulatory); * Stable dose of IFN-β for at least 26 weeks prior to the screening visit; * No onset of MS relapse in the preceding 60 days prior to randomization; * Clinically stable for 4 weeks prior to randomization. Exclusion Criteria: * Other chronic disease of the immune system, liver function impairment or chronic pancreatic disease; * Pregnant or nursing woman; * Alcohol or drug abuse; * Use of cladribine, mitoxantrone, or other immunosuppressant agents such as azathioprine, cyclophosphamide, cyclosporin, methotrexate or mycophenolate before enrollment; * Human immunodeficiency virus [HIV] positive status; * Any known condition or circumstance that would prevent in the investigator's opinion compliance or completion of the study. The above information is not intended to contain all considerations relevant to a patient's potential participation in a clinical trial.

As registered. Criteria can change, so ask the trial team or your neurologist.

About this trial

In the sponsor's words

The primary objective was to estimate the tolerability and safety of 2 doses of teriflunomide administered once daily for 24 weeks, compared with placebo, in patients with multiple sclerosis [MS] with relapses who were on a stable dose of interferon-β [IFN-β]. Secondary objectives were: * to estimate the effects of the 2 doses of teriflunomide, compared to placebo, in combination with a stable dose of IFN-β on Magnetic Resonance Imaging [MRI] parameters, relapse rate and patient-reported fatigue; * to perform pharmacokinetic analyses of the 2 doses of teriflunomide in combination with a stable dose of IFN-β.

Papers

Loading reviews and guidelines…

Linked trials

Links found where a registry record names another trial's registry number.

Related trials

History

    1. Started

      May 2007

    2. Main results due

      Jun 2009

    3. Finished

      Jun 2009

    4. Results posted

      Nov 2012

    Assembled by software from public sources and not checked by people. Each record links to its source. Report an error