Pilot Study of Transcranial Direct Current Stimulation (tDCS)

CompletedNot a drug-phase studyMS (type not specified)NCT02746705

What it found

Results posted, not judged

Results are posted in the registry, but without a statistical test of the main measure. See the numbers below.

What was tested

Treatment tested

  • Transcranial Direct Current Stimulation (tDCS)
  • Cognitive Training Program

Placebo

  • Sham Transcranial Direct Current Stimulation

Results by group

The Number of Participants Completing at Least 80% of the Targeted Sessions.

Four Weeks

GroupValueIntervalNumber analysed
Transcranial Direct Current Stimulation (tDCS)15 participants15
Sham Transcranial Direct Current Stimulation (tDCS)12 participants12

Transcranial Direct Current Stimulation (tDCS)

15

Sham Transcranial Direct Current Stimulation (tDCS)

12

Change in Total Score of the Brief International Assessment of Cognition in MS (BICAMS)

Baseline, Four Weeks

GroupValueIntervalNumber analysed
Transcranial Direct Current Stimulation (tDCS)0.12 score on a scale0.47 (Standard Deviation)15
Sham Transcranial Direct Current Stimulation (tDCS)0.29 score on a scale0.63 (Standard Deviation)11

Transcranial Direct Current Stimulation (tDCS)

0.12

Sham Transcranial Direct Current Stimulation (tDCS)

0.29

Values as posted on ClinicalTrials.gov. Outcomes measured differently across trials are not directly comparable.

Safety

GroupParticipants at riskSerious adverse eventsDeaths
Transcranial Direct Current Stimulation (tDCS)170 (0.0%)0
Sham Transcranial Direct Current Stimulation (tDCS)140 (0.0%)0

As posted on ClinicalTrials.gov. Serious adverse events include any serious health event during the trial, whether or not the treatment caused it.

What it measured

Main measures

  • The Number of Participants Completing at Least 80% of the Targeted Sessions.

    Four Weeks

  • Change in Total Score of the Brief International Assessment of Cognition in MS (BICAMS)

    Baseline, Four Weeks

    Thinking and memory

Other measures (2)

  • Change in Score on Modified Fatigue Impact Scale (MFIS)

    Baseline, 4 Weeks

    Fatigue
  • Change in Score of CogState Brief Battery (CBB)

    Baseline, 4 Week

    Thinking and memoryWalking and mobility

Who could take part

MS (type not specified) · 18 to 70

Show the full criteria

Inclusion criteria

* Ages 18-70 * Definite MS diagnosis, all subtypes [95] * MS-related changes in cognitive functioning * A score of 6.5 or lesson the Expanded * Disability Status Scale (EDSS) OR more than 6.5 with proxy * Has stable and continuous access to internet service at home compatible with the study laptop (Wi-Fi or ethernet cable) * Adequate internet capacity for remote monitoring, as tested by http://www.speedtest.net/) * Adequate home facilities (enough space, access to quiet and distraction free area) * Able to commit to the two-week period of training sessions with baseline and follow-up visits. * Able to understand the informed consent process and provide consent to participate in the study

Exclusion criteria

* Visual, auditory and motor deficits that would prevent full ability to understand study instructions or operate the tDCS device or study laptop, as judged by treating neurologist or study staff * Relapse or steroid use in previous month * History of mental retardation, pervasive developmental disorder or other neurological condition associated with cognitive impairment * Primary psychiatric disorder that would influence ability to participate * History of seizures or seizure disorder * Current chronic headaches or migraines. In addition, if a subject has had a change in the rate or severity of head pressure, headache, or migraine in the past two weeks, they are excluded. * History of head trauma (e.g., head injury, brain surgery) or medical device implanted in the head (such as Deep Brain Stimulator) or in the neck (such as a Vagus Nerve Stimulator) * Any skin disorder/sensitive skin (e.g., eczema, severe rashes), blisters, open wounds, burn including sunburns, cuts or irritation, or other skin defects which compromise the integrity of the skin at or near stimulation locations (where electrodes are placed) * Treatment for a communicable skin disorder currently or over the past 12 months

As registered. Criteria can change, so ask the trial team or your neurologist.

About this trial

In the sponsor's words

This study will test the tolerability and preliminary efficacy of transcranial direct current stimulation (tDCS) combined with a cognitive training program, remotely-delivered using a telemedicine protocol in 60 adults with multiple sclerosis (MS). The study will evaluate the efficacy of tDCS to evaluate two of the most debilitating symptoms of MS: cognitive impairment and fatigue.

Papers

Loading reviews and guidelines…

History

    1. Started

      Apr 2016

    2. Main results due

      Sept 2018

    3. Finished

      Sept 2018

    4. Results posted

      May 2020

    Assembled by software from public sources.