Transcranial Direct Current Stimulation to Reduce Asymmetric Glucose Uptake in Leg Muscles of Persons With Multiple Sclerosis

CompletedNot a drug-phase studyMS (type not specified)NCT04016844

What it found

Results posted, not judged

Results are posted in the registry, but without a statistical test of the main measure. See the numbers below.

What was tested

Placebo

  • transcranial direct current stimulation or SHAM

Results by group

Glucose Uptake in Leg Muscles

Six Months

GroupValueIntervalNumber analysed
tDCS Effects on Glucose Uptake in Leg Muscles6.3 Percentage (%)6.2 (Standard Deviation)4
SHAM Effects on Glucose Uptake in Leg Muscles16.4 Percentage (%)13.6 (Standard Deviation)4

tDCS Effects on Glucose Uptake in Leg Muscles

6.3

SHAM Effects on Glucose Uptake in Leg Muscles

16.4

Values as posted on ClinicalTrials.gov. Outcomes measured differently across trials are not directly comparable.

Safety

GroupParticipants at riskSerious adverse eventsDeaths
tDCS/SHAM Effects on Glucose Uptake in Leg Muscles40 (0.0%)0

As posted on ClinicalTrials.gov. Serious adverse events include any serious health event during the trial, whether or not the treatment caused it.

What it measured

Main measures

  • Glucose Uptake in Leg Muscles

    Six Months

    Walking and mobility

Other measures (1)

  • Ratings of Perceived Exertion (RPE)

    Six Months

    Walking and mobility

Who could take part

MS (type not specified) · 18 to 70

Show the full criteria

Inclusion criteria

* medically diagnosed with Multiple Sclerosis (MS) * 18-70 yrs. of age, moderate disability (Patient Determined Disease Steps (PDDS) core 2-6) * Self-reported differences in function between legs, able to walk for 20 min.

Exclusion criteria

* MS relapse within last 60 days * inability to fast for 6 hours * hyperglycemia (fasting blood sugar > 200 mg/dL) * insulin-dependent diabetes * high risk for cardiovascular disease (ACSM risk classification) * changes in disease-modifying medications within last 45 days * concurrent neurological/neuromuscular disease * hospitalization within last 90 days * diagnosed depression * inability to understand/sign informed consent, pregnant, history of seizure disorders (or on medications known to lower seizure threshold) * hydrocephalus.

As registered. Criteria can change, so ask the trial team or your neurologist.

About this trial

In the sponsor's words

This study is to examine the efficacy of tDCS to improving walking in people with Multiple Sclerosis (PwMS). Our study compromises 1 group of subjects with MS which will attend the lab for three sessions. In the first session, subjects will be consented, complete the Patient Determined Disease Steps (PDDS), the Fatigue Severity Scale (FSS), and maximal voluntary contractions (MVCs) of the right and left knee extensors and flexors to determine the more-affected leg. The second and third sessions will involve whole-body FDG PET imaging. During each of these sessions, the subject will walk for 20 min on a treadmill at a self-selected speed during which time tDCS or SHAM, in a blinded manner, will be applied to the motor cortex (M1) corresponding to the more-affected leg. Approximately 2 minutes into the walking, [18F]fluorodeoxyglucose (FDG) will be administered by IV injection. Immediately after the walking is completed, the subject will be positioned in the PET/CT scanner and a whole body (top of head to toes) PET/CT scan will be acquired for the evaluation of glucose metabolism in the brain, spine, and lower extremities. The third session will be identical to the second session with the exception that the opposite condition (tDCS or SHAM) will be used.

Loading reviews and guidelines…

History

    1. Started

      Dec 2019

    2. Main results due

      Oct 2020

    3. Finished

      Oct 2020

    4. Results posted

      Jan 2023

    Assembled by software from public sources.