Transcutaneous Direct Current Stimulation of the Spinal Cord for Treatment of Spasticity in Multiple Sclerosis

Status unknownNot a drug-phase studyMS (type not specified)NCT04287244

We could not find results for this trial

What it found

No results found

We found no results in the registry or in papers.

What was tested

Treatment tested

  • Transcutaneous Spinal Direct Current Stimulation

What it measured

Main measures

  • Gait improvement

    5 days

    Walking and mobilitySpasticity

Other measures (4)

  • Spasticity Assessment

    19 days

    Spasticity
  • Multiple Sclerosis Walking Assessment

    19 days

    Walking and mobility
  • Quality of Life Measures

    19 days

    Quality of life (reported by participants)
  • Disability Measure

    19 days

Who could take part

MS (type not specified) · 18 and over

Show the full criteria

Inclusion criteria

-Patients diagnosed with Multiple Sclerosis according to the 2010 Mc Donald criteria with spasticity in the lower extremities

Exclusion criteria

* Cardiac pacemakers * Patients with prior exposure to tDCS * Metallic hardware in the spine * Eczema or skin abrasion at the intended site of stimulation * Currently pregnant or plan for pregnancy in the next 6 months * Heart or respiratory failure resulting in activity impairment * Walking impairment due to orthopaedics condition such as deformity or recent fracture.

As registered. Criteria can change, so ask the trial team or your neurologist.

About this trial

In the sponsor's words

The current research is aimed at using Transcutaneous Spinal Direct Current Stimulation (tSDCS) as complementary therapeutic tool in the treatment of spasticity in multiple sclerosis. Patients will be randomized into two groups (tSDCS-anode vs. tSDCS-sham) according to the detailed protocol. Main outcome will be measured by the change in walking speed using the Timed 25-Foot Walk (T25FW). A total of 40 patients ought to be enrolled as specified in methodology. Secondary outcomes will assess functional improvement through Multiple Sclerosis Walking Scale (MSWS) Short Form - 36 (SF-36), Expanded Disability Status Scale (EDSS) and Ashworth scale.

Loading reviews and guidelines…

History

    1. Started

      Mar 2020

    2. Main results due

      Feb 2022

    3. Finished

      May 2022

    Assembled by software from public sources.