Power Training in Older Multiple Sclerosis Patients

Status unknownNot a drug-phase studyMS (type not specified)NCT04762342

What it found

Paper found, not read

A paper reports the results; we have not read it yet. See Papers below.

What was tested

Treatment tested

  • Power training

What it measured

Main measures

  • Percentage brain volume change.

    Baseline, after 24 weeks and after 48 weeks.

    MRI lesionsBrain volume loss

Who could take part

MS (type not specified) · 60 and over

Show the full criteria

Inclusion criteria

* ≥ 60 years of age. * Clinically diagnosed with MS according to the McDonald criteria (48). * Having an EDSS ≤ 6.5. * able to transport themselves to the testing at Aarhus University and Aarhus University Hospital. * able to transport themselves to training, if randomized to the PRP group.

Exclusion criteria

* having comorbidities (cardiovascular, respiratory, orthopedic, or other neurological diseases than MS) affecting PRP participation or MRI scans. * having a pacemaker. * having metallic implant(s) that prevents MRI scans. * having untreated osteoporosis; t-score below -2.5 and a history of low energy facture or t-score below -3.0. * participating in more than two sessions per week of structured PRE and have done so for the past 3 months. * Are cognitively impaired at a level expected to prevent the participant from understanding training and testing instructions.

As registered. Criteria can change, so ask the trial team or your neurologist.

About this trial

In the sponsor's words

The study seeks to investigate whether 24 weeks of power training has neuroprotective effects in older PwMS. Additional purposes are to examine the effects of 24 weeks power training on physical function, cognitive function and neuromuscular function. Further, it is investigated whether the potential effects of power training are maintained after 24 weeks of follow-up.

Papers

Loading reviews and guidelines…

History

    1. Started

      Dec 2020

    2. Main results due

      Aug 2024

    3. Finished

      Aug 2024

    Assembled by software from public sources.