Transcutaneous Electrical Spinal Stimulation (tSCS) for Improving Upper Limb Function in People With MS

Not yet recruitingNot a drug-phase studyMS (type not specified)NCT07152145

What it found

Still running

No result yet.

What was tested

Treatment tested

  • Active stimulation tSCS

Placebo

  • Sham: stimulations using a non-active electric stimulation

Given to everyone in the trial

  • Occupational/Upper Limb Rehabilitation Therapy

What it measured

Main measures

  • Change in Upper Limb Function (9-Hole Peg Test)

    Baseline and Week 12

    Disability progressionArm and hand function

Other measures (6)

  • Change in Hand Grip Strength (Dynamometry)

    Baseline and Week 12

    Arm and hand functionPhysical function
  • Change in Quality of Life (EQ-5D-5L)

    Baseline and Week 12

    Walking and mobilityPainMood and sleepQuality of life (reported by participants)
  • Change in Fatigue (Modified Fatigue Impact Scale - MFIS)

    Baseline and Week 12

    Thinking and memoryFatigue
  • Change in Manual Dexterity (Box and Block Test)

    Baseline and Week 12

    Arm and hand function
  • Patient-Reported Upper Limb Function (Multiple Sclerosis Impact Scale - MSIS-29, upper limb subitems)

    Baseline and Week 12

    Arm and hand functionQuality of life (reported by participants)
  • Safety and Tolerability

    Baseline through Week 12

    Quality of life (reported by participants)Safety

Who could take part

MS (type not specified) · 18 to 70 · EDSS 3.0 to 6.5

Show the full criteria

Inclusion criteria

* Age between 18 and 70 years. * Diagnosis of Multiple Sclerosis (according to revised McDonald criteria). * Upper limb dysfunction (9-Hole Peg Test score ≥ 20% slower than normative values). * Stable disease-modifying treatment for ≥ 6 months before enrollment. * Expanded Disability Status Scale (EDSS) score between 3.0 and 6.5. * Ability to provide informed consent.

Exclusion criteria

* Relapse or corticosteroid treatment within the last 3 months. * Severe spasticity of the upper limb (Modified Ashworth Scale > 3). * Implanted electrical devices (pacemaker, spinal cord stimulator). * Epilepsy or uncontrolled seizures. * Severe psychiatric disorders or cognitive impairment interfering with study procedures. * Pregnant or breastfeeding women. * Participation in another interventional clinical trial within the last 3 months.

As registered. Criteria can change, so ask the trial team or your neurologist.

Contact details on the registry

About this trial

In the sponsor's words

The goal of this clinical trial is to evaluate whether non-invasive spinal cord neuromodulation with the SCONE™ device can improve upper limb function in people with multiple sclerosis. The study will investigate if combining SCONE™ therapy with rehabilitation exercises leads to improvements in arm and hand movement, and whether the therapy is safe and well tolerated in this patient population. Participants will receive non-invasive spinal cord stimulation with the SCONE™ device and perform rehabilitation exercises specifically focused on the upper limb.

Papers

Loading reviews and guidelines…

History

    1. Started

      Oct 2025

    2. Main results due

      Dec 2026

    3. Finished

      Dec 2026

    Assembled by software from public sources.