Exploring Cognitive Recovery: the Impact of Sensor-based Robotic Rehabilitation in Neurological and Neurodegenerative Disorders

RecruitingNot a drug-phase studyMS (type not specified)NCT07384143

What it found

Still running

No result yet.

What was tested

Treatment tested

  • Sensor-Based Robotic Rehabilitation with Cognitive Tasks (SBRR)

Compared with

  • Standard Conventional Therapy

What it measured

Main measures

  • Between-group difference in change from baseline in Addenbrooke's Cognitive Examination-Revised (ACE-R) total score (Parkinson's disease)

    From baseline (Visit 1) to end of treatment (Visit 2; after completion of 25 rehabilitation sessions; 2-3 sessions/week; each session 60 minutes; total duration ~8-12 weeks).

    MRI lesionsThinking and memory
  • Between-group difference in change from baseline in Brief Repeatable Neuropsychological Test (BRNT) composite score (Multiple Sclerosis)

    From baseline (Visit 1) to end of treatment (Visit 2; after completion of 25 rehabilitation sessions; 2-3 sessions/week; each session 60 minutes; total duration ~8-12 weeks).

    MRI lesionsThinking and memory
  • Between-group difference in change from baseline in Repeatable Battery for the Assessment of Neuropsychological Status (RBANS) Total Scale Index score (Stroke)

    From baseline (Visit 1) to end of treatment (Visit 2; after completion of 25 rehabilitation sessions; 2-3 sessions/week; each session 60 minutes; total duration ~8-12 weeks).

    MRI lesionsThinking and memory

Other measures (3)

  • Between-group difference in change from baseline in Fugl-Meyer Assessment-Upper Extremity (FMA-UE/FMA-UL) score

    From baseline (T0) to immediately after the final rehabilitation session (T1; after completion of 25 sessions; 2-3 sessions/week; 60 minutes/session; total duration ~8-12 weeks).

    MRI lesionsArm and hand function
  • System Usability Scale (SUS) score for robotic device usability at end of treatment

    From baseline (T0) to immediately after the final rehabilitation session (T1; after completion of 25 sessions; 2-3 sessions/week; 60 minutes/session; total duration ~8-12 weeks).

    MRI lesions
  • Goal Attainment Scaling (GAS) T-score at end of treatment

    From baseline (T0) to immediately after the final rehabilitation session (T1; after completion of 25 sessions; 2-3 sessions/week; 60 minutes/session; total duration ~8-12 weeks).

    MRI lesions

Who could take part

MS (type not specified) · 18 to 75

Show the full criteria

Inclusion criteria

* Age 18-75 years; * FMA-UL 0-31: eligible for exoskeletons and robotic devices with high support. (Armeo Power, Amadeo, Motore) * FMA-UL 32-47: eligible for end-effectors with medium support. (Armeo Spring, Hand Tutor, Diego) * FMA-UL 48-52: eligible for sensor-based with low support. (Pablo, Diego, Armeo Senso) * MoCA: ≤ 20

Exclusion criteria

* Severe cognitive disorders * Behavioral disorders * Sensory disorders

As registered. Criteria can change, so ask the trial team or your neurologist.

Contact details on the registry

About this trial

In the sponsor's words

The goal of this clinical trial is to learn if sensor-based robotic upper limb rehabilitation can improve cognitive and motor functions in adults with neurological and neurodegenerative disorders, including Parkinson's disease, multiple sclerosis, and stroke. The main questions it aims to answer are: Does sensor-based robotic rehabilitation improve cognitive functions such as attention, memory, and executive functions? Does this rehabilitation lead to better motor recovery and daily functioning compared to conventional therapy? Researchers will compare the experimental group receiving robotic rehabilitation with cognitive tasks to the control group receiving conventional therapy to see if the robotic approach leads to greater improvements in both cognitive and motor outcomes. Participants will: Receive upper limb rehabilitation using robotic devices and virtual reality-based exercises or conventional therapy Complete a series of neuropsychological assessments before and after the intervention to measure cognitive changes Complete motor function tests before and after the intervention to evaluate physical improvements Participate in 25 training sessions, 2-3 times per week, each lasting 60 minutes

Papers

Loading reviews and guidelines…

History

    1. Started

      Feb 2025

    2. Main results due

      Feb 2030

    3. Finished

      Feb 2030

    Assembled by software from public sources.