Percutaneous Versus Transcutaneous Nerve Stimulation of the Median, Radial, and Ulnar Nerves: Effects on Hand Function in Multiple Sclerosis

CompletedNot a drug-phase studyMS (type not specified)NCT07546318

What it found

Paper found, not read

A paper reports the results; we have not read it yet. See Papers below.

What was tested

Treatment tested

  • Percutaneous Electrical Nerve Stimulation (PENS)

Compared with

  • Transcutaneous Electrical Nerve Stimulation (TENS)

What it measured

Main measures

  • Fine Manual Dexterity

    Baseline, immediately post-intervention, and 72 hours post-intervention.

    Arm and hand function

Other measures (1)

  • Gross Manual Dexterity

    Baseline, immediately post-intervention, and 72 hours post-intervention.

    Arm and hand function

Who could take part

MS (type not specified) · 18 to 80

Show the full criteria

Inclusion criteria

* Diagnosis of multiple sclerosis according to McDonald criteria. * Age between 18 and 80 years. * Clinically stable for at least 2 months before enrollment. * No recent corticosteroid treatment. * Functional ability to complete the study assessments, defined as a Nine Hole -Peg Test time of less than 300 seconds and the ability to transfer at least 1 block in the Box and Block Test. * Ability to understand the study procedures and provide written informed consent.

Exclusion criteria

* Musculoskeletal disorders or injuries affecting the upper limb. * Implanted electrical devices. * Skin lesions or dermatological conditions at the stimulation sites. * Cognitive impairment that interferes with understanding or performing the assessments. * Recent relapse or any concomitant neurological condition that could interfere with study participation or evaluation.

As registered. Criteria can change, so ask the trial team or your neurologist.

About this trial

In the sponsor's words

This randomized, parallel, single-blind clinical trial aims to compare the immediate and short-term effects of percutaneous electrical nerve stimulation (PENS) versus transcutaneous electrical nerve stimulation (TENS), applied simultaneously to the median, radial, and ulnar nerves, on hand function in people with multiple sclerosis. Participants will be assessed at baseline, immediately after the intervention, and 72 hours later. Outcomes include fine manual dexterity, gross manual dexterity, pinch strength, and tactile sensitivity.

Papers

Loading reviews and guidelines…

History

    1. Started

      Jan 2026

    2. Main results due

      Mar 2026

    3. Finished

      Apr 2026

    Assembled by software from public sources.