Clinical Investigation to Validate the Safety and Performance of Integrating Functional Electrical Stimulation Into the ABLE Exoskeleton

CompletedNot a drug-phase studyMS (type not specified)NCT07550699

What it found

No results found

We found no results in the registry or in papers.

What was tested

Treatment tested

  • ABLE Exoskeleton with Functional Electrical Stimulation (ABLE FES)

What it measured

Main measures

  • Number and type of device-related Adverse Events

    From baseline to follow-up (up to 2 weeks after end of intervention)

    Safety
  • Time taken to don/doff the device

    Up to 5 weeks (8 sessions)

    Walking and mobility
  • Number of steps walked

    Up to 5 weeks (8 sessions)

    Walking and mobility
  • Distance walked

    Up to 5 weeks (8 sessions)

    Walking and mobility
  • Time spent upright and time spent walking

    Up to 5 weeks (8 sessions)

    Walking and mobility
  • Number of therapists assisting the session

    Up to 5 weeks (8 sessions)

    Walking and mobility
  • Assistive device used

    Up to 5 weeks (8 sessions)

    Walking and mobility
  • Step Length

    Up to 5 weeks (8 sessions)

    Walking and mobility
  • Step Symmetry

    Up to 5 weeks (8 sessions)

    Walking and mobility
  • Center of mass displacement (cm)

    Up to 5 weeks (8 sessions)

    Walking and mobility
  • Motor torque (Nm)

    Up to 5 weeks (8 sessions)

    Walking and mobility

Other measures (7)

  • FES tolerance

    During each training session (up to 5 weeks, 8 sessions)

  • Clinical observation

    During each training session (up to 5 weeks, 8 sessions)

  • Quebec User Evaluation of Satisfaction with assistive Technology (QUEST 2.0) score

    Post-training (up to 6 weeks)

    Quality of life (reported by participants)
  • Borg Rating of Perceived Exertion

    From baseline to post-training (up to 6 weeks)

  • Location and level of pain

    From baseline to post-training (up to 6 weeks)

    Pain
  • Lower limb spasticity

    At baseline and post-training (up to 6 weeks)

    Spasticity
  • Minimum tolerated assistance in Functional Test

    At baseline, each training session (4-5 weeks) and post-training (up to 6 weeks)

    Walking and mobility

Who could take part

MS (type not specified) · 18 to 80

Show the full criteria

Inclusion criteria

* 18 to 80 years old * Diagnosis of acquired brain injury, spinal cord injury (neurological level between C5 and L2, AIS B to AIS D), or multiple sclerosis * Currently undergoing physiotherapy treatment, either as an inpatient or outpatient at the investigating center * Ability to provide informed consent

Exclusion criteria

* Significant osteoporosis that may increase the risk of fracture * Unresolved fractures in the pelvis or limbs, or a history of fragility fractures in the lower limbs within the past 2 years * Spinal instability (or use of spinal orthoses, unless medically approved) * Deterioration >3 points of the total in the motor score of the International Standards for the Neurological Classification of Spinal Cord Injury (ISNCSCI) in the last 4 weeks. Loss of sensation and/or motor activity above the level of injury detected that has not been evaluated by a doctor. * Severe spasticity: Level 4 on the Modified Ashworth Scale * Orthostatic hypotension: Inability to tolerate at least 10 minutes in an upright position * Uncontrolled autonomic dysreflexia * Medical instability * Unstable cardiovascular condition, hemodynamic instability, untreated hypertension (SBP > 140 mmHg, DBP > 90 mmHg), deep vein thrombosis (DVT), or uncontrolled autonomic dysreflexia * Severe comorbidities, including any condition deemed inappropriate by the investigator for using the ABLE Exoskeleton or for completing the study * Pressure ulcers Grade I or higher (as defined by the European Pressure Ulcer Advisory Panel - EPUAP) in areas that will be in contact with the device * Anthropometric measurements incompatible with the ABLE Exoskeleton, specifically height outside the 1.5-1.9 m range or weight exceeding 100 kg * Anatomical constraints (such as leg length differences, users unable to position themselves inside the device) that are incompatible with the device * Range of motion restrictions preventing normal gait or sit-to-stand transitions, including: Ankle: ability to achieve at least neutral (0°) position; Knee: ability to extend to at least -10°; Hip: bilateral hip flexion of at least 100° and extension of at least 0° * Heterotopic ossification * Pregnant or breastfeeding women * Cognitive impairment that results in the inability to follow simple instructions, particularly psychological or cognitive problems that do not allow a participant to follow study procedures * Requires assisted ventilation. * Scoliosis >40-50º Cobb angle. * Presence of pacemakers, defibrillators, or other non-compatible electronic implants. * Open wounds, infections, or active irritation at the electrode placement sites. * Severe dermatological conditions in the stimulation area. * Uncontrolled active epilepsy. * Malignant tumors in the area of application. * Severe loss of sensation in the areas where electrodes are to be placed. * Medical conditions where electrical stimulation is contraindicated by physician recommendation. * Inability to communicate pain, discomfort, or adverse reactions during stimulation. * Venous thrombosis, thrombophlebitis, or severe arterial obstruction. * Chronic venous insufficiency with significant varicosities. * Hemophilia. * Ongoing infectious process or fever. * Presence of metallic implants in the flow area between the electrodes

As registered. Criteria can change, so ask the trial team or your neurologist.

About this trial

In the sponsor's words

The primary objective of this study is to validate the safety and clinical performance of the ABLE Exoskeleton with integrated Functional Electrical Stimulation (ABLE FES) in individuals with neurological conditions that impair gait, including spinal cord injury, acquired brain injury, and multiple sclerosis. The secondary objective is to collect preliminary data on the potential clinical and psychosocial benefits of combining robotic gait assistance with electrical stimulation.

Loading reviews and guidelines…

History

    1. Started

      Apr 2026

    2. Main results due

      Sept 2026

    3. Finished

      Sept 2026

    Assembled by software from public sources.