Single Arm Trial Identifying Barriers and Facilitators to Mindfulness Practice

RecruitingNot a drug-phase studyMS (type not specified)NCT07573241

What it found

Still running

No result yet.

What was tested

Treatment tested

  • MBCT

What it measured

Main measures

  • Daily Mindfulness Practice

    Twice daily for approximately 10 weeks (1 week before, 8 weeks during, and 1 week after the MBCT program)

Other measures (2)

  • Type of Mindfulness Practice

    Twice daily for approximately 10 weeks (1 week before, 8 weeks during, and 1 week after the MBCT program)

  • Quality of Mindfulness Practice

    Twice daily for approximately 10 weeks (1 week before, 8 weeks during, and 1 week after the MBCT program)

Who could take part

MS (type not specified) · 18 and over

Show the full criteria

Inclusion criteria

* Have an MS diagnosis of any subtype per record review * Average pain intensity in past week of at least moderate severity (>3 on the 0-10 numerical rating scale) * Report pain >50% of days in the past 3 months. * Are able to comply with study procedures and complete measures independently via self-report (on mobile phone)

Exclusion criteria

* Less than 18 years of age * Score greater than 8 on the Expanded Disability Status Scale * Have significant cognitive impairment as indicated by 1 or more errors on the 6-item Cognitive Screener * Change in disease modifying medications in the past 3 months assessed via self-report (although participants will be considered eligible after the 3-month window) * History of MS relapse within the last 30 days prior to screening assessed via self-report (although participants will be considered eligible after the 3-month window) * Current suicidal ideation with intent or plan as indicated by a score of 1 or higher on the Patient Health Questionnaire-9 suicide item and further assessment with the Columbia-Suicide Severity Rating Scale (although individuals with suicidal ideation but no intent or plan will be considered eligible) * Currently engaged in psychotherapy for pain assessed via self-report * Currently have a "regular" mindfulness practice defined as > 3 days per week assessed via self-report * Inability to read or speak English

As registered. Criteria can change, so ask the trial team or your neurologist.

Contact details on the registry

About this trial

In the sponsor's words

This observational study will examine what emotional, physical, and environmental factors make it easier or harder for people with multiple sclerosis (MS) and chronic pain to practice mindfulness daily while participating in a group-based Mindfulness-Based Cognitive Therapy (MBCT) program.

Loading reviews and guidelines…

History

    1. Started

      Jul 2026

    2. Main results due

      Mar 2028

    3. Finished

      Jun 2028

    Assembled by software from public sources.